News Release

The 19th Annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences awarded for pioneering studies in cell biology

Grant and Award Announcement


Hoboken, N.J--February 18, 2020--The Wiley Foundation is pleased to announce that the 19th annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences will be awarded to Clifford Brangwynne, Anthony Hyman, and Michael Rosen. Their pioneering work has revealed a new principle for subcellular compartmentalization based on formation of phase-separated biomolecular condensates, a process implicated in both physiological and pathological events.

Cliff Brangwynne is a Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Princeton University and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Tony Hyman is Director and Group Leader at the Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics in Dresden, Germany. Michael Rosen is the Chair of the Department of Biophysics at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas Texas, and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

"The 2020 Wiley Prize recognizes Drs. Cliff Brangwynne, Tony Hyman, and Michael Rosen for their discovery that cells can compartmentalize processes without the use of membranes. These phase-separated structures are now recognized to play a role in numerous cell biological processes" said Dr. Titia de Lange, Chairperson of the awards jury for the Wiley Prize at the Rockefeller University in New York City.

"The Wiley Foundation honors research that champions novel approaches and challenges accepted thinking in the biomedical sciences. The work of the 2020 Wiley Prize recipients Cliff Brangwynne, Tony Hyman, and Michael Rosen truly upholds this mission," said Deborah Wiley, Chair of the Wiley Foundation. "We honor them for the discovery of a completely new aspect of cell biology that impacts our understanding of how cells work."

First awarded in 2002, The Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences is presented annually to recognize contributions that have opened new fields of research or have advanced concepts in a particular biomedical discipline. Among the many distinguished recipients of the Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences, nine have gone on to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine and two have gone on to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

This year's award of $50,000 will be presented to the winners on April 3, 2020 at the Wiley Prize luncheon at The Rockefeller University. The winners will then deliver an honorary lecture as part of The Rockefeller University Lecture Series. This event will be live streamed via the Current Protocols' Webinar Series and registration is free.


Additional Information

About Wiley

Wiley drives the world forward with research and education. Through publishing, platforms and services, we help students, researchers, universities, and corporations to achieve their goals in an ever-changing world. For more than 200 years, we have delivered consistent performance to all of our stakeholders. The Company's website can be accessed at

Wiley Media Contacts:

Dawn Peters (US): +1 781-388-8408

Penny Smith (UK): +44 1243 770448

Follow us on Twitter @WileyNews

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.