News Release

American Mathematical Society to award prizes

Grant and Award Announcement

American Mathematical Society

AMS Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement: YAKOV SINAI, Princeton University, for his pivotal role in shaping the theory of dynamical systems and for his ground-breaking contributions to ergodic theory, probability theory, statistical mechanics, and mathematical physics.

AMS Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition: JOHN GUCKENHEIMER, Cornell University, and PHILIP HOLMES, Princeton University, for their book, NONLINEAR OSCILLATIONS, DYNAMICAL SYSTEMS, AND BIFURCATIONS OF VECTOR FIELDS (1983, reprinted 1990), a now-classic book that remains in wide use as a standard text for graduate-level courses in mathematics departments and throughout the sciences and engineering.

AMS Steele Prize for a Seminal Contribution to Research: SAHARON SHELAH, Rutgers University and Hebrew University of Jerusalem, for his book CLASSIFICATION THEORY AND THE NUMBER OF NON-ISOMORPHIC MODELS (1978, 2nd edition 1990), which helped to make model theory into a mature field, completely transforming its aims, methods, and ability to connect to algebra and geometry.

AMS Levi L. Conant Prize: JOHN BAEZ, University of California, Riverside, and JOHN HUERTA, Instituto Superior Tecnico in Lisbon, for their article "The algebra of grand unified theories" (BULLETIN OF THE AMS, 47 (2010), no. 3, 483-552).

AMS E. H. Moore Prize: MICHAEL J. LARSEN, Indiana University, and RICHARD PINK, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich, for their article "Finite subgroups of algebraic groups" (JOURNAL OF THE AMS, 24 (2011), no. 4, 1105-1158).

AMS David P. Robbins Prize: ALEXANDER RAZBOROV, University of Chicago, Steklov Mathematical Institute in Moscow, and Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago, for his paper "On the minimal density of triangles in graphs" (COMBINATORICS, PROBABILITY AND COMPUTING, 17 (2008), no. 4, 603-618), and for introducing a powerful new method, flag algebras, to solve problems in extremal combinatorics.

AMS Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize: MARYAM MIRZAKHANI, Stanford University, her deep contributions to the theory of moduli spaces of Riemann surfaces.

AMS Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry: IAN AGOL, University of California, Berkeley, for his many fundamental contributions to hyperbolic geometry, 3-manifold topology, and geometric group theory; and DANIEL WISE, McGill University, for his deep work establishing subgroup separability for a wide class of groups and for introducing and developing with Frederic Haglund the theory of special cube complexes, which are of fundamental importance for the topology of three-dimensional manifolds.

AMS-SIAM Norbert Wiener Prize in Applied Mathematics: ANDREW J. MAJDA, New York University, for his groundbreaking work in theoretical fluid mechanics and its application to problems in atmospheric science and oceanography.

AMS-MAA-SIAM Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student: FAN WEI, an alumna of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a student at Cambridge University, for five research papers in fields as diverse as number theory, combinatorics, statistics, and tropical geometry.

JPBM Communications Award: JOHN ALLEN PAULOS, Temple University, for his books, columns, reviews, speeches, and editorials that have for more than 25 years brought mathematically informed ideas, information, opinion, and humor to a broad nonspecialist audience.


The full citation for this prize and additional information can be found in the Prize Booklet, at Find out more about AMS prizes at

Founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship, today the more than 30,000 member American Mathematical Society fulfills its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its uses, strengthen mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and to everyday life.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.