News Release

SIAM names 2012 Fellows

35 academics and professionals in Class of 2012

Grant and Award Announcement

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Today, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) named 35 academics and professionals to its 2012 Class of Fellows for exemplary contributions to applied mathematics and computational science. The individuals are recognized for outstanding research in the field as well as their service to the larger community.

Please find their names and affiliations below:

  • Tamer Başar
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Michele Benzi
    Emory University
  • Anthony M. Bloch
    University of Michigan
  • Pavel B. Bochev
    Sandia National Laboratories
  • Richard A. Brualdi
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Gui-Qiang G. Chen
    University of Oxford
  • G. Bard Ermentrout
    University of Pittsburgh
  • Richard S. Falk
    Rutgers University
  • Lisa J. Fauci
    Tulane University
  • David R. Ferguson
    The Boeing Company, Retired
  • M. Gregory Forest
    University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
  • Susan Friedlander
    University of Southern California
  • Irene Martinez Gamba
    University of Texas at Austin
  • Walter Gautschi
    Purdue University, Retired
  • Donald Goldfarb
    Columbia University
  • Sven Hammarling
    NAG, Inc. - Numerical Algorithms Group, Retired
  • Pavol Hell
    Simon Fraser University
  • Bruce Hendrickson
    Sandia National Laboratories
  • Kirk E. Jordan
    IBM Corporation
  • Michael I. Jordan
    University of California, Berkeley
  • James P. Keener
    University of Utah
  • Naomi Ehrich Leonard
    Princeton University
  • Philip Kumar Maini
    University of Oxford
  • Geoffrey B. McFadden
    National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Edward Ott
    University of Maryland, College Park
  • Tamar Schlick
    New York University
  • David B. Shmoys
    Cornell University
  • Mary Silber
    Northwestern University
  • Barry F. Smith
    Argonne National Laboratory
  • Tao Tang
    Hong Kong Baptist University
  • Edriss S. Titi
    Weizmann Institute of Science and University of California, Irvine
  • Robert J. Vanderbei
    Princeton University
  • Richard S. Varga
    Kent State University, Retired
  • Jan C. Willems
    K.U. Leuven
  • Thaleia Zariphopoulou
    University of Oxford and University of Texas at Austin

You can read further details about their accomplishments, affiliations, and reasons for recognition here:

A full list of 2012 Fellows and their affiliations can also be found on the SIAM Fellows page here:

The 2012 Class of Fellows was nominated by the SIAM community and will be recognized at the 2012 SIAM Annual Meeting to be held in Minneapolis, Minnesota in July.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.