News Release

Successful completion of 2021 Rotman-UNIST Trading Competition

Grant and Award Announcement

Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology(UNIST)

2021 Rotman-UNIST Trading Competition (RUTC)

image: The 2021 Rotman-UNIST Trading Competition (RUTC) took place on August 19, 2021. view more 

Credit: UNIST Graduate School of Interdisciplinary Management

On August 19, UNIST hosted the 2021 Rotman-UNIST Trading Competition (RUTC), bringing together teams of primarily graduate-level students and their faculty advisors from top-ranked universities across South Korea.

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, this unique simulated financial market trading challenge took place entirely online. This year, a total of 75 student traders participated. Throughout the competition, participants had the opportunity to put their knowledge to the test through a series of cases in the field of finance, such as energy & commodity trading and liquidity risk cases.

The competition utilizes the Rotman Interactive Trader, an order-driven market simulator, which was developed in-house at the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management, and used by universities and professionals around the world.

The 2021 Rotman-UNIST Trading Competition divided into two main areas. First is algorithmic trading with programming where students compete for profits via statistical and ETF arbitrages. The second part deals with energy commodities trading where students are challenged to make profits in the virtual trading of crude oil, petroleum products, and natural gas.

The first place award went to a team named ‘IGMA’—composed of Shiban Atif Khan, Muhammad Irfan Akbar, Fuad Samadov, and Manoj Pandey KAIST. The winners were also given a certificate of merit and a prize money of approximately KRW 1.5 million. The second place winning team was ‘Tetra’—composed of WooSeong Ko, JeongMyeong Park, HyeIn Lee, and YoonHo Noh from Yonsei University and Seoul National University. The third place award went to a team named ‘NEXT’—composed Yeong Jin Ko, MinGyu Kim, InKyung Baek, and WooJae Jung from UNIST.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.