News Release

The 2nd International BioDesign Research Conference

Announcement (first round)

Meeting Announcement

BioDesign Research

Mission: To showcase the latest achievements and research progress in the field of Biosystems Design and Synthetic Biology, to foster communication and interdisciplinary collaboration among scientists, to promote interactions between academia and industry, and to facilitate graduate student and postdoc training.

Organizers: The conference is organized by BioDesign Research (BDR), a Science Partner Journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Conveners: The joint conveners are Dr. Alfonso Jaramillo (the University of Warwick) and Dr. Xiaohan Yang (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA).

Dates and time: The conference will be held from December 6th - 17th with three hours each weekday from 11 AM - 2 PM, US Eastern Standard Time (8 AM - 11 AM US Pacific Standard Time/4 PM - 7PM London/0 AM - 3AM Beijing). You can check your local time on this website: The organizers regret that the time may not be best for all of you, but registered attendees can replay recorded videos any time after the talks for one year.

Format: The conference consists of three parts: 1) virtual online presentations via Zoom (featuring plenary and keynote talks), 2) “satellite” presentations selected from submitted abstracts, and 3) poster presentations.

The entire conference will be recorded and the recorded videos will be available for replay for one year with the permission of corresponding speakers.

1. Date

December 6th to 17th, 2021


2. Registration

Conference website:

The conference is free with registration.

3. Conference Themes

Biodesign theories and principles

Biodesign methods and tools

Biodesign engineering at molecular, pathway, cellular, tissue, and organism levels

Biodesign applications

Biodesign security and ethics

4. Poster Award

First prize $300 × 2

Second prize $200 × 4

Third prize $100 × 6

Poster submission:

Submission deadline: November 30th, 2021

5. Abstract submission

The designated committee will select top abstracts for oral presentations as pre-recorded videos. The video collection will be a “satellite session” for each online plenary session. The video collection will be available for replay for registered attendees. Authors of other abstracts are encouraged to do a poster presentation.

Abstract submission:

Selecting for oral presentations deadline: November 20th, 2021

Submission deadline: November 30th, 2021

6. Speakersupdating

Rodolphe Barrangou, North Carolina State University, USA

Anke Becker, Philipps University of Marburg, Germany

Ron Breaker, Yale University, USA

Yvonne Y. Chen, University of California, USA

Virginia Cornish, Columbia University, USA

Tara L. Deans, University of Utah, USA

Douglas Densmore, Boston University, USA

Diane DiEuliis, National Defense University, USA

José R. Dinneny, Stanford University, USA

Tom Ellis, Imperial College London, UK

Michael Elowitz, California Institute of Technology, USA

Gigi Kwik Gronvall, Johns Hopkins University, USA

Terry Hwa, University of California San Diego, USA

Mark Isalan, Imperial College London, UK

Alfonso Jaramillo, University of Warwick, UK

Mustafa Khammash, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

David Liu, Harvard University, USA

Victor de Lorenzo, Centro Nacional de Biotecnología, Spain

Susanna Manrubia, Spanish National Centre for Biotechnology, Spain

Nicola Patron, The Earlham Institute, UK

Rafael Sanjuan, University of Valencia, Spain

Alison Smith, Department of Plant Sciences, University of Cambridge, UK

Ricard Sole, Pompeu Fabra University, Spain

Beatrix Suess, Technical University, Darmstadt, Germany

Xiaohan Yang, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA

Matias Zurbriggen, Institute of Synthetic Biology/Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf, Germany

7. Sponsor


8. Contact information

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.