News Release

39th Annual Gallery of Fluid Motion Award winners announced

Interacting bubbles, sea-air gas exchange, and bacterial motion impress judges of flow visualizations

Grant and Award Announcement

American Physical Society

PHOENIX, AZ, November 22, 2021 — The American Physical Society's Division of Fluid Dynamics (DFD) is pleased to announce the award-winning posters and videos of the 39th Annual Gallery of Fluid Motion. A highlight of the annual DFD meeting since 1987, the Gallery features striking visualizations of experiments and simulations that illustrate the science of fluid motion.

“This year’s entries ranged from various facets of fluid dynamics from cloud physics to mechanical wings that learn to fly efficiently, to tempura’s frying in the oil,” said Gokul Pathikonda, assistant professor in the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy at Arizona State University and the local organizer for the Gallery. “They capture the beauty of fluid dynamics that we encounter both in our everyday lives and in highly specialized applications, in a way our eyes cannot observe otherwise.”

A panel of scientists evaluated a total of 96 entries (63 videos and 33 posters) from around the world on both their aesthetic and scientific qualities. The top prizes in each category are named for the late Stanford University fluid mechanics professor Milton Van Dyke, whose "An Album of Fluid Motion" has inspired researchers in the field for decades.

The winning authors are invited to submit a paper about their poster or video to be published as part of a special collection in Physical Review Fluids ahead of the 2022 DFD meeting. See last year’s collection at  

Milton Van Dyke Award Videos Winners

V0069: Fragmentation of two-phase compound liquid ligaments

Virgile Thievenaz*, Alban Sauret
University of California, Santa Barbara

V0038: Flow-focusing from interacting cavitation bubbles

Arpit Mishra*, Parthasarathi Ghosh, Arpit Mishra, Parthasarathi Ghosh, Arnab Roy, Rajaram Lakkaraju
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, Kharagpur

Claire Bourquard, Outi Supponen
ETH Zurich

V0036: Chemical Flowers: buoyancy-driven instabilities under modulated gravity

Yorgos Stergiou*,Marcus Hauser, Anne De Wit
Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Kerstin Eckert, Karin Schwarzenberger
University of Szeged

Dezso Horvath
Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg

Gabor Schuszter
Université libre de Bruxelles

Milton Van Dyke Award Poster Winners

P0041: Confined Rayleigh-Taylor instability

Samar Algatari*, Thomas Videbæk, Sidney R. Nagel
University of Chicago 

A. E. Hosoi, Irmgard Bischofberger
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

P0037: Shattered to pieces: cracks in drying drops

Paul Lilin*, Irmgard Bischofberger
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

P0005: Gas transfer from breaking waves

Palas Kumar Farsoiya*, Luc Deike
Princeton University

Stephane Popinet
Sorbonne Université, France

Gallery of Fluid Motion Winners

V0013: Large-eddy simulation of cumulus clouds

Georgios Matheou*
University of Connecticut

V0060: Atomization of the optimally disturbed liquid jets

Hanul Hwang*, Parviz Moin
Stanford University

Dokyun Kim
Cascade Technologies, Inc.

V0073: The Yarning Droplet

Carola Seyfert*, Alvaro Marin
University of Twente

V0053: DNS of turbulent pipe flow at high Reynolds number

Alessandro Ceci*, Sergio Pirozzoli, Paolo Orlandi
Sapienza Università di Roma

Joshua Romero, Massimiliano Fatica
NVIDIA Corporation

Roberto Verzicco
Università di Roma Tor Vergata & University of Twente

P0036: Mixing in Time-Periodic Chaotic Flows with Bacteria

Ranjiangshang Ran*, Quentin Brosseau, Rebecca Winter, Paulo Arratia
University of Pennsylvania         

Brendan Blackwell
Northwestern University

Boyang Qin
Princeton University

# # #

All videos and posters are available at and licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Any reuse must credit the author(s) and provide a link back to the individual entry page.

The Division of Fluid Dynamics of the American Physical Society, established in 1947, exists for the advancement and diffusion of knowledge of the physics of fluids with special emphasis on the dynamical theories of the liquid, plastic and gaseous states of matter under all conditions of temperature and pressure. For more information about DFD, visit 

About APS
The American Physical Society is a nonprofit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. APS represents more than 50,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry in the United States and throughout the world.

To recieve APS press releases via email, please complete the form on this page to join the APS press list. Credentialed journalists are eligible to receive a weekly tip sheet from the Physical Review journals and complimentary meeting registration.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.