News Release

Four UCLA Health physicians elected to Association of American Physicians

Honor extended to physicians with outstanding credentials in basic or translational biomedical research limited to 70 persons per year

Grant and Award Announcement

University of California - Los Angeles Health Sciences

Four UCLA physicians have been elected to the Association of American Physicians, an honor given to no more than 70 physicians per year. The UCLA physicians elected in 2022 are: neurologist Timothy F. Cloughesy, MD; infectious disease specialist Judith S. Currier, MD, MSc; cardiologist Kalyanam Shivkumar, MD, PhD; and primary care physician Carol M. Mangione, MD, MSc. The four new members bring the number of AAP members from UCLA and the David School of Medicine at UCLA to 38.

The Association of American Physicians (AAP) is an honorary medical society founded in 1885 by the Canadian physician Sir William Osler and six other distinguished physicians of his era for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” Election to the AAP is an honor extended to physicians with outstanding credentials in basic or translational biomedical research. The AAP includes about 1300 active members and 700 emeritus and honorary members. Members of the AAP have included Nobel laureates, and members of the United States National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine. Living members of the AAP who have also been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine include Michael S. Brown, Joseph L. Goldstein, William G. Kaelin, Jr, Robert J. Lefkowitz, Barry J. Marshall, Stanley B. Prusiner, Peter Ratcliffe, and Gregg L. Semenza.

Here are details about the UCLA Health physician scientists newly-elected to the AAP.

TIMOTHY F. CLOUGHESY, MD Professor, Clinical Neurology, Step XI, Director, Neuro-Oncology Program, Co-Director of Brain Tumor Center UCLA Health, member of the UCLA Brain Research Institute and UCLA’s Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Cloughesy is an innovator in treatment of brain tumors, working across basic and clinical domains to bring disease altering therapies into the clinic. He has led seminal clinical trials increasing patient survival and is the co-founder, developer and global PI for a revolutionary adaptive platform trial for cancer.

JUDITH S. CURRIER, MSc, MD Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases, Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases Director, Clinical AIDS Research and Education (CARE) Center, UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine. Dr. Currier's contributions have helped to improve the care for people with HIV. She played a leadership role in trials that defined when prophylaxis for opportunistic infections could be stopped, identified strategies to optimize antiretroviral therapy in adults and pregnant women and identified risks and interventions to reduce long- term complications of HIV.

CAROL M. MANGIONE, MD, MSc Chief, Division of General Medicine & Health Services Research Executive Vice Chair for Health Equity and Health Services Research Barbara A. Levey & Gerald S. Levey Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Public Health, UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine. Dr. Mangione is a pioneer in understanding how system-level interventions, benefit design, and cost sharing affect quality and outcomes for persons with diabetes. She has identified system and patient-level approaches that may mitigate health disparities for racial/ethnic minorities, older persons, and people with chronic diseases, or visual disability.

KALYANAM SHIVKUMAR, MD, PhD Professor, Director, UCLA Cardiac Arrhythmia Center & Electrophysiology Programs Director & Chief, UCLA Interventional CV Programs & Cardiac Catheterization Laboratories University of California, Los Angeles. Kalyanam Shivkumar is a physician scientist specializing in interventional cardiac electrophysiology. His research deals with fundamental aspects of cardiac neural control. He has pioneered the field of clinical neurocardiology and the translation of neuromodulation therapies to the clinical setting. He has also promoted the concept of the ‘internet of the human body’ to highlight key biological principles underlying control of all the organs by the nervous system.

“I am very pleased that these outstanding physician scientists have received this well-deserved honor,” said Steven M. Dubinett, MD, interim dean at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. 

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.