News Release

L'Oréal and UNESCO honor outstanding female scientists

Grant and Award Announcement

Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids

L'Oréal and UNESCO honour outstanding female scientists

image: "For Women in Science" honored four outstanding female scientists at the French Embassy in Berlin. In the picture (f.l.t.r.): S.E. Francois Delattre (Ambassador of France in Germany), Natalia Wörner (Moderator of the festive evening), Laureate Dr. Darinka Trübutschek, Laureate Dr. Eteri Svanidze, Laureate Dr. Svetlana Klementyeva, Dr. Roman Luckscheiter (Secretary General of the German Commission for UNESCO) and Stefan Geister (Director Communications & Engagement L'Oréal Deutschland GmbH). Not in the picture: ALaureate Dr. Anna Czarkwiani, who attended the festive evening virtually. view more 

Credit: Thomas Rafalzyk/L'Oréal Deutschland GmbH

As part of the L'Oréal-UNESCO funding program "For Women in Science," Dr. Eteri Svanidze of the MPI CPfS Dresden was honored along with three other female scientists for their contribution to research and development.

At the award ceremony at the French Embassy in Berlin, more than 100 guests from politics, science, society and business honoured the achievements of the four female scientists from Dresden, Frankfurt am Main and Tübingen. Nobel laureate Prof. Emmanuelle Charpentier gave the key note lecture.

The L'Oréal-UNESCO support program "For Women in Science" was launched internationally in 1998 and adapted for Germany in 2006. It is supported by the German UNESCO Commission and L'Oréal Germany, in cooperation with the foundation of Nobel Prize winner Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard. Nationally, a total of 49 female scientists have already received awards. Since 2022, the funding program "For Women In Science" has been under the personal patronage of the Federal Minister of Education Bettina Stark-Watzinger.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.