News Release

UNIST signs cooperation MoU with AASTU!

Business Announcement

Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology(UNIST)

MOU Ceremony between UNIST and AASTU

image: UNIST and AASTU signed MoU on research and academic exchange on August 30, 2022. From left are AASTU President Dereje Engida and UNIST President Yong Hoon Lee. view more 

Credit: UNIST

UNIST has recently embarked on a new partnership with the Addis Ababa Science and Technology University (AASTU) to help establish Ethiopia’s first graduate degree program in nuclear engineering.

On August 31, UNIST signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with AASTU to promote international cooperation in the fields of education, and training of the related personnel and research and development with respect to the peaceful uses of nuclear energy.

Established in 2011, AASTU has a vision to be internationally recognized Ethiopian Hub of science and technology with strong national commitment and significant continental impact by 2030. To this end, AASTU is preparing for the establishment of Ethiopia’s first graduate degree programs in nuclear engineering. UNIST will support AASTU through this agreement and will also pave the way for cooperation between Korea and Ethiopia related to nuclear material and technologies for nuclear power plants.

Through this partnership, the two parties will promote mutual collaboration in the following areas: △ Research and development in the fields of nuclear energy, △ Cooperation for the development and review of the curriculum for nuclear science and engineering department, △ Joint study and training, △ Research support for AASTU students, △ Research equipment support for advanced R&D △ Use of SEM equipment, as well as △ Education and training of the related personnel.

Meanwhile, the MoU signing ceremony has been attended by UNIST President Yong Hoon Lee, Dean Sung Youb Kim (College of Engineering), Professor Deokjung Lee (Dept. of Nuclear Engineering, UNIST), Professor Eisung Yoon (Dept. of Nuclear Engineering, UNIST), AASTU President Dereje Engida, Vice President Tarekegn Berhanu for Academic Affairs, and Emeritus Professor Dong-Seong Sohn (Dept. of Nuclear Engineering, UNIST). 

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.