News Release

Final call for awards nominations 2023 of the World Cultural Council

Deadline: January 27, 2023- The World Cultural Council would like to make a final call for nominations to the “Albert Einstein” and the “José Vasconcelos” Awards. Nominations must be submitted by January 27, 2023.

Grant and Award Announcement

Consejo Cultural Mundial

2023 Nominations header

image: 2023 Nominations header view more 

Credit: World Cultural Council

The World Cultural Council would like to make a final call for nominations to the “Albert Einstein” and the “José Vasconcelos” Awards. Nominations must be submitted by January 27, 2023.

Nominees for the Albert Einstein World Award of Science should be eminent scientists whose achievements can serve as an inspiration for future generations. Considerations will be given to individuals or institutions in one of the Life Sciences, such as Environmental Sciences, Biology, Biochemistry, Medicine or Chemistry; or in one of the Natural Sciences such as Physics, Mathematics or Astronomy. The prize is awarded every year.

A candidate for the José Vasconcelos World Award of Education should be a renowned educator, an authority in the field of teaching, or an individual who has promoted education policies. Through his/her work, the individual or team should have had a significant influence on the advancement of culture for mankind. The prize is awarded every second year.

In addition to considering the candidate’s breakthrough achievements, the jury will also take into account the service which each has made to mankind and his/her qualities as a role model who inspires future generations to contribute to a better world.

To nominate online or for further details of the awards, please see nomination form and requirements at: Renomination of previous nominees is possible and encouraged.

Since 1984 the World Cultural Council has held a yearly Award Ceremony granting prizes to outstanding scientists, educators and artists whose breakthroughs in the fields of knowledge, learning and research have contributed to the cultural enrichment of mankind. The prizes additionally commend the qualities inspired by the awardees as role models, encouraging young generations to join forces to overcome the challenges of our current civilization. 

The 38th Award Ceremony will be hosted by the University of Helsinki, Finland to be held on November 3, 2023. At the event, the 2023 “Albert Einstein” World Award of Science and the “José Vasconcelos” World Award of Education will be conferred on eminent pioneers in their respective fields in honour of their tireless efforts to advance human culture and well-being. For further information on the 2023 Award Ceremony please visit:  

For more information on the 2022 awardees and previous ceremonies, please visit:



Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.