News Release

UTSA STEM faculty honored by internationally renowned scientific council

Grant and Award Announcement

University of Texas at San Antonio

Dr. Lamb and Dr.  Chronopoulos

image: Two UTSA faculty members Audrey Lamb (chemistry) and Anthony Chronopoulos (computer science) were elected as 2022 Fellows for the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). view more 

Credit: The University of Texas at San Antonio

Two faculty members from UTSA were elected as 2022 Fellows for the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). They are both in the UTSA College of Sciences and are Audrey Lamb (chemistry) and Anthony Chronopoulos (computer science).

“Being named an AAAS Fellow is a prestigious lifetime achievement that is only awarded to select scientists around the world,” said David Silva, dean of the UTSA College of Sciences. “I am very proud of Dr. Lamb and Dr. Chronopoulos for not only advancing their disciplines, but also for their outstanding commitment to scientific advocacy, research excellence, and student mentoring at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.”

Lamb is a professor and chair of the Department of Chemistry. She specializes in mechanistic enzymology, metabolic pathways and structural biology. Her lab focuses on understanding how bacterial pathogens make the molecules they need to survive and infect humans and has also participated in several collaborative projects related to diabetes and cancer. Lamb is being honored for “inspiring scientific contributions combining steady-state and transient-state kinetic experiments with X-ray crystallography, encouraging fundamental research advancements in understanding reactions catalyzed by enzymes of natural product biosynthesis.

Chronopoulos is a professor emeritus in the Department of Computer Science. He specializes in computational science and engineering, high performance computing, and distributed and parallel systems. He has been involved in numerous publications within the past year that include topics ranging from text recognition, machine learning applied to smart cities, and cloud technologies. Chronopoulos is being honored for “distinguished contributions to the field of scientific computing, particularly iterative methods for sparse algebraic problems and computer methods applied to engineering.

Founded in 1848, the AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society. The tradition of electing AAAS Fellows started in 1874 to recognize members for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. Elected by the Council of the AAAS, these UTSA researchers were chosen for their efforts to advance science in their designated disciplines. 

The nominations were sponsored by current fellows and the Office of the Vice President for Research, Economic Development, and Knowledge Enterprise.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.