News Release

University of Oklahoma professor receives Top Early Career Award for Radar Science

Grant and Award Announcement

University of Oklahoma

Metcalf with award

image: University of Oklahoma assistant professor Justin Metcalf (right) with Fulvio Gini (left), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers fellow and IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society representative. Metcalf received the prestigious Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award during an awards ceremony on May 3, 2023. view more 

Credit: Image provided by the University of Oklahoma

NORMAN, OKLA.Justin Metcalf, Ph.D., assistant professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Gallogly College of Engineering, and an affiliate faculty in the Advanced Radar Research Center at the University of Oklahoma, has received the 2023 Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award from the Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers for his contributions to radar embedded communications, spectrum sharing, and cognitive radar.

The competitive international award recognizes “individual contributions to the radar community through technical papers, presentations, inventions or products” and is selected by committee members of the IEEE AESS Radar Systems Panel. The award began in 1985. Metcalf is the first U.S. recipient since 2019 and the sixth U.S. recipient over the past 20 years.

“Dr. Metcalf is a rising star and has made a tremendous impact in the field of radar technologies,” said Tomás Díaz de la Rubia, OU Vice President for Research and Partnerships. “Justin’s research is of vital importance to our national defense and has been a key player in advancing the work of our Oklahoma Aerospace and Defense Innovation Institute as a faculty fellow.”

In March 2023, Metcalf became a faculty fellow for aerospace and defense for the OU Office of the Vice President for Research and Partnerships supporting the Oklahoma Aerospace and Defense Innovation Institute. In addition to his research achievements, Metcalf is a strong advocate for students. In 2020, electrical engineering student Abood Hanoon created an OU chapter of Students for the Exploration and Development of Space, or SEDS, under Metcalf’s advisement.

Before joining OU, Metcalf was a research electronics engineer with the Sensors Directorate of the Air Force Research Laboratory and chaired the Dayton chapter of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society. Metcalf is a prior recipient of the IEEE Dayton section Young Professionals Award and a Young Faculty Award from the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.

Metcalf earned a bachelor’s degree in computer engineering from Kansas State University, where he was a Presidential Scholar. He earned his doctorate and master’s degrees, both with honors, in electrical engineering from the University of Kansas. During graduate school, Metcalf received the Richard and Wilma Moore Award for the best departmental master’s thesis.

Learn more about the Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.