News Release

Press Release: ECOG-ACRIN announces the recipients of its 2023 scientific leadership and mentorship awards

Mentoring program expands with the inaugural Remarkable Mentor to Women in Oncology Award

Business Announcement

ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group

Patrick M. Forde, MBBCh

image: Patrick M. Forde, MBBCh, recipient of ECOG-ACRIN's 2023 Young Investigator Award view more 

Credit: Johns Hopkins University

The ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group (ECOG-ACRIN) announces the following cancer researchers as the recipients of the organization’s annual scientific leadership and mentorship awards. Through its Mentoring Program, ECOG-ACRIN formally recognizes outstanding scientific leadership through events and awards that identify, encourage, and recognize investigators in the early years of their careers. The program is expanding in 2023 with the addition of the Remarkable Mentor to Women in Oncology Award.

Young Investigator of the Year

Patrick M. Forde, MBBCh, is the 2023 recipient of the Young Investigator Award, a professional honor to recognize scientific achievements made by investigators during the early years of their careers. Dr. Forde is an Associate Professor of Oncology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Co-Director of the Division of Upper Aerodigestive Malignancies at the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center, in Baltimore, Maryland. His research examines the role of immunotherapy for mesothelioma and lung cancer and has led to the development of several phase 3 trials, including the ongoing PrECOG DREAM3R study. DREAM3R is investigating the combination of chemotherapy with and without durvalumab in patients with unresectable pleural mesothelioma. Dr. Forde led the CheckMate 816 trial, which resulted in FDA approval of neoadjuvant chemo-immunotherapy for treating patients with early-stage non-small cell lung cancer (Forde PM et al. N Engl J Med. May 2022). Click to view ECOG-ACRIN's tribute video to Dr. Forde.

Inaugural Remarkable Mentor to Women in Oncology Award

Arlene A. Forastiere, MD, is the first recipient of the Remarkable Mentor to Women in Oncology Award. Members of the ECOG-ACRIN Task Force on Advancement for Women initiated this professional honor to recognize an ECOG-ACRIN member for sustained commitment to developing the careers of women in cancer medicine and advancing women investigators in the Group. Dr. Forastiere is a Professor of Oncology, Professor of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery, and Professor of Radiation Oncology and Molecular Sciences, all at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland. Her leadership within ECOG-ACRIN, the University of Michigan, Johns Hopkins University, and nationally has had a profound impact on the success and representation of many women in oncology.

Paul Carbone, MD Fellowship Award

Julia D. Ransohoff, MD, is the 2023 recipient of the Paul Carbone, MD Fellowship Award, a one-year, one-time research grant to develop and promote excellence in clinical trials leading to improvements in cancer care. Dr. Ransohoff is a Hematology and Oncology Fellow at the Stanford University School of Medicine in Stanford, California. Her research project will focus on the tailoring of post-neoadjuvant therapy in patients with high-risk triple-negative breast cancer by detecting minimal residual disease via next-generation sequencing. Each year, ECOG-ACRIN names one outstanding senior research fellow at a member institution to receive this award and associated professional recognition. The Carbone Fellowship is funded by the ECOG Research & Education Foundation.


The ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group (ECOG-ACRIN) is a membership-based scientific organization that designs and conducts cancer research involving adults who have or are at risk of developing cancer. The Group comprises nearly 1300 member institutions and 15,000 research professionals in the United States and around the world. Visit, follow us on Twitter @eaonc, Facebook, and LinkedIn, or call 215.789.3631.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.