Contributing National Laboratories

The DOE laboratories comprise a preeminent federal research system, providing the nation with strategic scientific and technological capabilities. The laboratories execute complex long-term government scientific and technological missions. They develop unique, often multidisciplinary, scientific capabilities beyond the capacity of academic and industrial institutions, to benefit the nation’s researchers and national strategic priorities.

DOE laboratories operate many of the nation’s most sophisticated research facilities. These facilities include the nation’s largest high performance computing centers, the world’s highest energy proton collider, third-generation synchrotron light sources and high-flux neutron sources. They also host specialized facilities for microcharacterization, materials synthesis, combustion research, ion beam studies, and fusion energy research. The agency’s research facilities have an enormous impact on science and technology ranging from studying the most fundamental constituents of matter to producing unique isotopes for medical and defense applications.

Ames Laboratory
Ames, Iowa
Argonne National Laboratory
Argonne, Illinois
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Upton, New York
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Batavia, Illinois
Idaho National Laboratory
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Berkeley, California
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, New Mexico
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Golden, Colorado
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Richland, Washington
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
Princeton, New Jersey
Sandia National Laboratories
Albuquerque, NM / Livermore, CA
SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Stanford, California
Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
Newport News, Virginia